Skip the NI Direct Bar
Skip navigation

Re-appointment to Agricultural Wages Board for Northern Ireland

The Department of Agriculture and Rural Development has announced the re-appointment of an Independent Member to the Agricultural Wages Board (AWB) and extensions to the existing appointments of the Chair and the third Independent Member.
Friday, 22 March 2013

Mr Andy Popplewell, who has served one term, has been appointed for a further term which will expire on 31 March 2015. The appointments of the Chair, Mrs Sarah Havlin, and Mrs Delia van der Lenden, who have each served two terms, have been extended for one year to 31 March 2014.

Notes to editors:

  1. The Agricultural Wages Board (AWB) was established under the terms of the Agricultural Wages (Regulation) (Northern Ireland) Order 1977 to regulate the minimum rates of wages and other related matters for workers in agriculture.
  2. The Board consists of 15 members of whom three are appointed by DARD and six each are nominated by the Ulster Farmers' Union (UFU) and the workers’ union, Unite.
  3. Appointments, re-appointments and extensions are made under Article 3 and Schedule 1 of the above Order and in accordance with the CPA NI Code of Practice.
  4. The posts of Chair and Independent Members attract attendance fees of £259 and £136 per day respectively. Travelling costs are paid at Civil Service mileage rates. Reasonable costs for child and dependent care are also payable. The Board meets three times per year.
  5. Biographical notes:
    Mrs Havlin, from Bangor, Co Down, is a solicitor by profession. In addition to her role as Chair of the Agricultural Wages Board, she holds the following public appointments:
    • Board Member, General Consumer Council which is remunerated at £101 per day;
    • Board Member, Agri-Food and Biosciences Institute (AFBI) which is remunerated at £3,500 per annum;
    • Legal member of the Board of the Regulation and Quality Improvement Authority which is remunerated at £5,500 per annum;
    • Legal Chair of the Exceptional Circumstances Body which is remunerated at £359 per day;
    • Certification Officer for Northern Ireland which is remunerated at £20,000 per annum;
    • SEELB Appointed Representative to Boards of Governors of St Columbanus College, Bangor and Trinity Nursery School, Bangor which is not remunerated.

Mrs Havlin was previously a Legal Chair of DARD’s Independent Appeals Panel and also served as an Assistant Commissioner on the Local Government Boundaries Commission. She is a Visiting Tutor at The Institute of Professional & Legal Studies at Queen’s University, an Associate Lecturer in Law with The Open University, an Independent Assessor for the Health and Social Care Board and an Independent Arbitrator at The Irish Football Association.

Mrs van der Lenden is from Newry, Co Down and is a Management Consultant. She is a Lay Magistrate of the Courts and Tribunals Service Northern Ireland and an Ordinary Member on its Charities Tribunal. She has also been the Chief Officer for the Southern Health and Social Services Council, the NI Assistant Director for Save the Children UK and a Lay Member of the Review Panel of the Special European Union Programmes Body.

Mr Popplewell is from Bangor, Co Down and is an Investigating Officer in the Police Ombudsman’s Office. He is also a Lay Chair of the Conduct Committee of the Northern Ireland Social Care Council. He was the Lay Chair of the Nursing and Midwifery Council Fitness to Practice Panel but now sits as the Lay Member of the Registrar’s Appeals Hearings. He is a Lay Member of the Mental Health Commission and the Health and Social Care Independent Complaints Panel and is a Service Member of the Pensions Appeal Tribunal.

None of the above has been involved in any political activities during the past five years. Public appointments are as declared above.

       6. All media queries should be directed to the DARD Press Office on 028 9052 4619 or email: DARD Press Office. Out of office hours please contact the duty press officer via pager number 07699 715 440 and your call will be returned.