Skip the NI Direct Bar
Skip navigation

Listed Building Survey gathers pace in Derry

Environment Minister Mark H Durkan has announced that survey work to identify and review listed buildings is gathering pace in Derry City.
Thursday, 6 February 2014

Four electoral wards in Derry were recorded in detail between 1997 and 2000. The remaining twenty two will be surveyed over coming months.

The aim of this ‘Second Survey’ is to produce high quality records, based upon detailed research. These will help to explain clearly why such buildings are protected by listing. Such knowledge can help ensure that the potential of the built heritage is fully understood and that appropriate decisions are taken on a building’s future. All of Northern Ireland is to be covered by 2020 with close to 60% now surveyed.

Mark H Durkan said: “This work to record and explain the importance of individual buildings is a vital part of my Department’s ongoing commitment to realising the full economic and social value of our built heritage. With detailed knowledge we are in a much better place to work with owners and partners to realise the potential of this important resource for the benefit of all.

“A good example of this is Prehen House, near Derry, now opened as an important visitor attraction. It was subjected to a resurvey in 2009 and discovered to be one of Northern Ireland’s most significant Georgian Country Houses. As a result, its listing was raised to Grade A and its historically significant outbuildings were added to the list. This has supported efforts to market the building and increased the ability of the house and outbuildings to attract grant aid.”

Letters have issued over the last week to the owners of listed buildings affected across the City Council area and Northern Ireland Environment Agency (NIEA) architects have arranged to visit the City Council to explain the process in more detail, and to seek their views on potential new listings. Results of the survey will be published on NIEA’s website.

Notes to editors:

  1. The Second Survey commenced in 1997 and is programmed to be completed in 2020.
  2. Listed buildings are defined under article 42 of the Planning Order (1991) as ‘buildings of special architectural or historic interest’.
  3. Electoral wards being surveyed in the Derry City Council Area are: Clondermot, Creggan South, Beechwood, Caw, Ebrington, Brandywell, Riverside, St Columb's Well, The Diamond, Westland, Waterloo, Strand, Rosemount, Springtown, Claudy, Eglinton, Prehen, Enagh, Aughan, Crevagh, Creggan Central.
  4. Strabane District Council Area was surveyed in 2010. Limavady District Council Area was surveyed between 1997 and 2000.
  5. For media enquiries please contact DOE Press Office on 028 9025 6058. Out of office hours, contact the EIS Duty Press Officer on pager 07699 715 440 and your call will be returned.