Skip the NI Direct Bar
Skip navigation

Re-appointment of Commissioner to the Charity Commission for northern Ireland board

Social Development Minister Nelson McCausland has confirmed the re-appointment of Rosemary Connolly for a further three year term to the Charity Commission for Northern Ireland Board. The re-appointment, took effect from 2 November 2012.
Tuesday, 6 November 2012

The Charity Commission for Northern Ireland (CCNI) was established as the regulator of charities operating in Northern Ireland following the enactment of The Charities (Northern Ireland) Act 2008. The main functions of the CCNI are to keep a public register of charities; encourage, facilitate and monitor compliance with charity law; determine charity status; identify and investigate misconduct in charity administration and take remedial or protective action, as necessary.

Notes to editors

1. The CCNI Board comprises a Chief Commissioner, a Deputy Chief Commissioner and five Commissioners, one of whom must be legally qualified.

2. The re-appointment was made in accordance with the Commissioner for Public Appointments for Northern Ireland’s Code of Practice.

3. The Legally Qualified Commissioner receives £2,000 per annum.

4. Media enquiries to DSD Communications Team on 028 9082 9078 or email Out of office hours please contact the Duty Press Officer via pager number 07699 715 440 and your call will be returned.


Ms Connolly is the principal Solicitor in a specialist employment and equality law practice in Warrenpoint, Co. Down. She has 25 years experience as a serving solicitor. She was appointed to the Equality Commission for Northern Ireland for the period from 1999-2003. Other positions include Chair of Newry & Mourne Local Strategy Partnership (1995-1998), Chair/Secretary of Burren Community Forum (1995-date), Director of NI Family Care Society (2006-2008) and Member of the Committee on the Administration of Justice (1995-date).

She holds one other public appointment with the Pharmaceutical Society of N. Ireland for which she is Deputy Chair of the Scrutiny Committee. This post is remunerated at £500 per full day and £250 for meetings of up to four hours. She has not undertaken any political activity in the last five years.