New Government departments created

Date published: 09 May 2016

The number of Government departments has today been reduced from 12 to nine.


A commitment under the Fresh Start agreement, this is the biggest reorganisation of central government in Northern Ireland in the last 16 years.

The nine new departments are:

An overview of the changes, including the functions of the nine new departments, is available at nidirect.

News releases from April 2007 are available to view on the Public Records Northern Ireland (PRONI) website.

Share this page

Back to top